Our Company Story

Schwartz Reliance Insurance is currently one the largest privately-owned independent general insurance brokerages in Alberta. Since 1927 we have evolved through a series of mergers and acquisitions, to become a company which currently employs over 30 individuals.

Our mission is to provide our clients with the broadest range of insurance protection available, designed and administered at consistently competitive premium levels. We work with the leading insurance partners whose financial stability and claims payment performance will stand the most strident examinations.

INSURANCE COMPANIES REPRESENTED

The insurers with whom we are contracted are all provincially or federally licenced.

Their claims adjustment and payment performance are the subject of regular in-office surveillance by the company management team.
  • INTACT INSURANCE
    Intact has a long and proud Canadian history. Its roots in Canada go back 200 years to the incorporation of the Halifax Fire Insurance Association - in 1809, making it one of the country’s oldest, continuous companies. Headquartered in Toronto Ontario, Intact’s investment portfolio contains approximately $8.7 Billion, insuring over 4 million individuals and businesses across Canada.
  • WAWANESA INSURANCE
    Wawanesa is owned by its policyholders! The company, founded in 1896, is one of the largest property & casualty insurers in Canada, offers commercial and personal lines, including business, farm, homeowner, and automobile policies. Headquartered in Winnipeg Manitoba, Wawanesa has achieved an A+ (superior) rating for financial strength from A.M Best Co.
  • ECONOMICAL INSURANCE
    Founded in 1871, Economical Insurance is one of Canada's leading property and casualty insurance companies, providing security and support from coast to coast. Economical offers a wide range of personal, commercial, farm and surety products. Whether you're looking to insure your home, automobile or business, they have you covered. All of their products are supported by a solid history, financial stability and fast, efficient service on claims.
  • RSA INSURANCE
    Back in 1833 when Royal Insurance first came to Canada, fire was a big threat to Canadian lives and livelihoods. Major fires took a heavy toll in Montreal and Toronto. Today, they are Canada’s third largest property & casualty insurance company, with the broadest national personal and commercial lines proposition. With over 4,000 employees in Canada and operating in over 140 countries worldwide, RSA serves over 17 million customers around the globe.
  • THE GUARANTEE COMPANY OF NORTH AMERICA (GNCA)
    The Guarantee Company of North America is proud of their longstanding history of being a leading provider of surety products in Canada. With professional in-house staff and long-term relationships with international re-insurers, they are recognized for exceptional claims and customer service – while consistently supporting and serving independent agent and broker partners. GNCA operates and serves clients throughout the United States and all Canadian provinces. The Guarantee is well positioned to provide localized service while offering multinational products to fulfill the unique needs of our clients. They are headquartered in Toronto, Ontario.
  • TRAVELERS INSURANCE
    Whether it’s recommending the best coverage for your car, home or business, responding to a broker’s request, educating a client on ways to reduce risk, or managing a claim, Travelers Canada works hard to get things right. Their commitment to outstanding service combined with our comprehensive insurance-based solutions gives individuals and businesses the confidence they need to feel secure. Travellers employs approximately 1,700 employees in Canada, serving individuals and businesses from coast to coast.
  • CNA CANADA
    Since 1897, CNA has been providing outstanding service and an ongoing commitment to building long-term relationships, earning a reputation for being a carrier that inspires trust. Headquartered in Chicago, CNA has offices in Canada, the U.S., and internationally. In these locations, they work with highly professional distribution partners to ensure our customers receive the personal service and attention they look for in a carrier.
  • PORTAGE MUTUAL INSURANCE
    Portage Mutual Insurance Company has been doing business since 1884. Portage Mutual is based on the principles of security, integrity, hard work and service. Over the years, they have expanded their products and services and built a reputation as one of the most responsive property and casualty insurers in Canada. 180 Employees Headquartered in Portage la Prairie, Manitoba, with assets over $355 Million.

We also utilize the expertise of the following managing general insurance agents:

  • PORTAGE MUTUAL INSURANCE
  • BURNS & WILCOX INSURANCE
  • APRIL INSURANCE
  • MARKEL INTERNATIONAL
  • ENCON INSURANCE MANAGERS
  • PAL INSURANCE
  • PREMIER MARINE INSURANCE
  • SOUTHWEST INSURANCE GROUP
  • SPECIAL RISK INSURANCE
  • HAGERTY CANADA
  • TOTTEN INSURANCE GROUP
  • NORTHBRIDGE INSURANCE
Meet The Team

Schwartz Reliance is built on great staff members, bringing a wealth of knowledge & expertise to the company.

Dave Howe, CAIB

President, Partner

dave@schwartzreliance.com
Dalton Howe, CAIB

Executive Vice President, Partner

dalton@schwartzreliance.com
Mardene Watson, CIP, CAIB, CRM
Bonding Specialist

Past President – Insurance Broker’s Association

mardene@schwartzreliance.com
Steve Evanson, CAIB
Commercial Broker, Partner

Past President – Professional Young Insurance Brokers

steve@schwartzrelianceinsurance.com
John Howe, CAIB, CIP
Commercial Broker, Partner
john@schwartzreliance.com
Tara Howe-Vella, CAIB, CIP
Commercial Broker, Partner
tara@schwartzreliance.com

Lethbridge Personal Lines Staff

Sheila Paskuski, CAIB,

Personal Lines Manager

sheila@schwartzreliance.com
Anna Schoen, CAIB,

Personal Lines Broker

anna@schwartzreliance.com
Judy Larsen

Personal Lines Broker

judy@schwartzreliance.com
Wendy Krampl

Personal Lines Broker

wendy@schwartzreliance.com
Cheryl Wright

Personal Lines Broker

cheryl@schwartzreliance.com
Bev Thornhill

Personal Lines Broker

bev@schwartzreliance.com
Lori Henderson

Personal Lines Broker

lori@schwartzreliance.com
Andrea King

Personal Lines Broker

andrea@schwartzreliance.com
Dorraine McKillop

Personal Lines Broker

dorraine@schwartzreliance.com
Leona Anton

Personal Lines Support

leona@schwartzreliance.com
Maureen Suriano

Personal Lines Support

maureen@schwartzreliance.com
Gayle Swartzenburger

Personal Lines Support

gayle@schwartzreliance.com

Lethbridge Commercial Lines Staff

Steve Evanson Sr.

Commercial Lines Broker

steve@schwartzreliance.com
Vecas Griffiths Jr.

Commercial Lines Broker

vecas@schwartzreliance.com
Leslie Boyle

Commercial Lines Broker

Leslie@schwartzreliance.com
Kevin Chubb

Commercial Lines Broker

kevin@schwartzreliance.com
Dani Mueller

Commercial Lines Broker

dani@schwartzreliance.com
Jesse Boyle

Commercial Lines Support

jesse@schwartzreliance.com

Main Office Admin Staff

Donna Swartz

Reception

donna@schwartzreliance.com
Nicole Bechtel

Reception

nicole@schwartzreliance.com
Mark Stewart

Controller

mark@schwartzreliance.com

Registries Staff

Laura Stewart

Registry Manager

laura@schwartzreliance.com
Jeanette Dunlop

Registry Agent

jeanette@schwartzreliance.com
Bailey Racz

Registry Agent

bailey@schwartzreliance.com
Janna Eagle Speaker

Registry Agent

janna@schwartzreliance.com
Carey Sommerville

Registry Agent

carey@schwartzreliance.com

Coaldale Staff

Lori Chogi

Manager & Commercial Lines Broker

lori@schwartzcoaldale.com
Erin Leishman

Personal Lines Broker/Support

erin@schwartzcoaldale.com
Kim Malic

Personal Lines Broker

kim@schwartzcoaldale.com
Doris Barry

Receptionist / Admin Assistant

doris@schwartzcoaldale.com
WHY WOULD YOU DEAL WITH A LOCAL BROKER?
  • We represent you, the client
  • We assist in claims service.
  • We are locally owned & operated. You can deal with us in the manner you prefer – over the phone, e mail or in person.
  • As a broker, we contract to numerous Insurance Companies, which allows us to shop your policy around for the best price & coverage
PROFESSIONAL AFFILIATIONS

We are a member of

  • Insurance Brokers Association of Alberta (IBAA)
  • Better Business Bureau
  • Insurance Institute of Canada
  • Lethbridge Chamber of Commerce
  • Alberta Registry Agents Association
  • Lethbridge Construction Association
  • Surety Association of Canada
Community Involvement

Schwartz Reliance does its best to stay involved with and support the community
including being a proud sponsor of Slamfest the 2018 Canadian Slo-Pitch Championship

slam